Managing my network

  1. What are a relationship and what does it mean?

  2. What are 1st, 2nd and 3rd degree of connections on Serai?
  3. How do I connect with companies on Serai?

  4. Accepting and rejecting a connection request

  5. Who can see my network?

  6. Managing my existing network


What are a relationship and what does it mean?


We understand that relationships between companies can sometimes be more complicated than relationships between individuals. We recognise that two companies may have multiple relationships at the same time.

We have made it easier for you to manage your network by creating four types of relationships (Affiliation, Connection, Membership, Working Together) with more to come in the future.

 

What does an "Affiliation" mean?

Your company is a related, subsidiary or parent company of the company you are connecting with.

What does a "Connection: mean?

You know this company, or might want to work with it in the future.

What does a "Membership" mean?

You are a member of this group or organisation.

What does "Working Together" mean?

You have an active relationship with this company. You are buying from or selling to it.


If there is a relationship type that you share with a company that does not exist on this list yet, please feel free to contact us, we are always open to feedback.

 

What are 1st, 2nd and 3rd degree of connections on Serai?


The degree of connection on Serai indicates how closely related you are to another company on Serai.

  • 1st degree: This indicates that you are already connected to this company on Serai. You have one or more relationships (affiliation, connection, membership, working together) with this company. They are part of your network. You will see a 1st degree icon next to their name in search results and on their profile.

  • 2nd degree: This indicates that you have a mutual connection with this company but are not directly connected. This means that one or more of your network is connected to this company. You’ll see a 2nd degree icon next to their name in search results and on their profile.

  • 3rd degree: This indicates that you do not have any direct relationship with this company on Serai and neither does any company in your network. You’ll see a 3rd degree icon next to their name in search results and on their profile.

 

How do I connect with companies on Serai?

If your business partner (businesses that you have a relationship with) is already on Serai:

  1. Go to your partner’s profile
  2. Click Connect
  3. Select a relationship type from the dropdown
  4. Add your personalised message in the text field to introduce yourself or add context to your relationship
  5. Select if and how you want other companies to see this relationship through the relationship visibility settings
  6. Click Confirm

If your business partner is not on Serai yet, you can invite them to join by following the steps in How do I invite my partners to join Serai?

If you wish to add another relationship type with a company, follow the steps on How to add another relationship to my existing network?

 


Can I withdraw a connection request?

You can withdraw a connection request at any time in the Sent tab on the Invitations page, if the recipient has not yet responded to the invitation.

Please be aware that after withdrawing a connection request, you won’t be able to resend one to the same recipient for three weeks.

 

To view / withdraw connection requests:

  1. Click invitation-2 Invitations in the navigation bar
  2. Select the Sent tab, where you will be able to see all your sent connection requests - Here you can view your connection requests, remind the company that you have sent a connection request, or withdraw your connection request.
  3. Click Withdraw on the right-hand side of the invitation card. 

The recipient will not be notified that you have withdrawn the request. If the recipient has already accepted your invitation to connect, you have the option of removing the connection.

 

How to send a reminder for your connection request?

You can send a reminder to the receiver of your connection request at any time by using the Sent tab of the Invitation page.

Please be aware that after sending a reminder you will not be able to remind them again for 1 week.

 

To view / remind connection requests:

  1. Click invitation-2 Invitations in the navigation bar
  2. Select the Sent tab, where you will be able to see all your sent connection requests - Here you can view your connection requests, remind the company that you have sent a connection request, or withdraw your connection request.
  3. Click Remind on the right-hand side of the invitation card. 

Accepting and rejecting a connection request

The relationships with your connections are visible to your network by default, hence we recommend you to only accept requests from companies that you already know or from companies that you believe will become your business partners. It's important to remember that by showcasing the businesses that you work with you can immediately demonstrate your company’s credibility on Serai.

 

To view your received connection requests:

  1. Click on invitation-2 Invitations in the navigation bar
  2. In the Received tab, you can view all your incoming connection requests

To accept a connection request:

  1. Click Accept on the requested item OR
  2. Click on the Company Name to view its profile and click Accept on the Profile


To reject a connection request:

  1. Click Reject on the requested item OR 
  2. Click on the Company Name to view its profile and click Reject on the Profile

Once a connection request has been accepted, you can change the relationship type or remove the connection at any time.

If a company seems suspicious to you, please report it by clicking and selecting Report on the company profile you are reporting.

 

Who can see my network?

By default, your entire network can see your connections, and you can see your entire network's connections. Serai’s goal is to allow quality businesses to find and connect with one another. The ability for companies to explore each other’s network and mutual connections is exactly what instils trust in the search process on Serai.

However, we understand that there are some business relationships you may want to keep private. You can therefore choose which relationships you show and hide through our network visibility feature. This means you can still stay in touch easily with key partners and keep up to date with them, whilst still ensuring your relationship remains private.


To adjust who can see your network, please head over to How to manage my network visibility?

 

Managing my existing network

  1. How do I remove a company from My Network?
  2. How to add another relationship to my existing network?

 


To remove a company from your network:

  1. Click dots Contextual Menu on the profile of the company that you would like to remove and select Remove from network OR
  2. Go to your network list from your Network widget by clicking See all
  3. Click dots Contextual Menu next to the company's name and select Remove from network

You can also choose to remove a relationship type without removing the company from your network:

  1. Click dots Contextual Menu on the profile of the company that you would like to change your relationship with and select Manage relationship OR
  2. Go to your network list from your Network widget by clicking See all
  3. Click dots Contextual Menu next to the company's name and select Manage relationship
  4. Select bin Rubbish Bin next to the relationship type that you wish to remove
  5. Click Confirm

Please note: Only admins are able to remove relationship types or connections. You can head over to Roles and Permissions to understand more.

 


If you want to add another relationship type to an existing member of your Network, you can:

  1. Click dots Contextual Menu on the profile of the company that you would like to add a relationship type to and select Manage relationship OR
  2. Go to your network list from your Network widget by clicking See all
  3. Click dots Contextual Menu next to the company's name and select Manage relationship
  4. Click on + Add a relationship type on the bottom of your existing relationship type
  5. Select a relationship type from the dropdown list
  6. If you wish to, add your personalised message in the text field allows adding more context about the newly added relationship
  7. Select how you want other companies to view this relationship on your relationship visibility settings
  8. Click Confirm